Friday, June 5, 2015

Will PRS MPs make a stand against EC?

9:18AM Jun 5, 2015

PRS has been challenged to censure the Election Commission (EC) in the Dewan Rakyat for disregarding the Malaysia Agreement 1963.

In a press release yesterday, Sarawak PKR information chief Vernon Aji Kedit said PRS should order its six MPs to do so if the party was serious about the matter.

Vernon was responding to PRS president James Masing's recent criticism of the EC for claiming that it was not bound by the Malaysia Agreement but only by the federal constitution.

EC chairperson Abdul Aziz Yusof recently dismissed suggestions that the commission was bound by the Malaysia Agreement to allocate one-third of the country’s parliamentary seats to Sarawak and Sabah.

Masing said if the EC were to violate this provision, the Malaysia Agreement and the very existence of Malaysia would be in question.

Currently, only 57 out of 222 parliamentary seats (25.7 percent) are in Sarawak and Sabah.

While applauding Masing's stand, Vernon said the PRS should rightfully order its six MPs to table a bill to the Dewan Rakyat to remedy the situation.

"Talking through the press is just grandstanding. The real place to speak up is in Parliament," said Vernon.

PRS six MPs are: Masir Kujat (Sri Aman), William Nyallau Badak (Lubok Antu), Joseph Salang Gandum (Julau), Aaron Ago Dagang (Kanowit), Joseph Entulu Belaun (Selangau) and Wilson Ugak Kumbong (Hulu Rajang).

Last week, a new group called the Sabah Solidarity Movement submitted a petition to dewan rakyat speaker Pandikar Amin Mulia calling for the restoration of Sarawak and Sabah's one-third hold of the Dewan Rakyat.

This would allow Sarawak and Sabah to have veto power over constitutional amendments and allow the two states to be on equal status with Peninsula Malaysia.

The petition was signed by Angkatan Perpaduan Sabah chairperson Wilfred Bumburing, Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) chairperson Yong Teck Lee, Sabah People's Rights Movement Narawai Ahmad and Sabah State Reform Party (Star) chairperson Jeffrey Kitingan.


No comments: