Monday, February 9, 2015

State PKR election: All 3 reps retain posts

by  Churchill Edward, . Posted on February 9, 2015, Monday

Baru (seated fourth left) and his new PKR Sarawak Supreme Council members for the 2015 to 2017 term.
KUCHING: All three state PKR assemblymen retained their respective posts after the party’s election here on Saturday.

Ba Kelalan assemblyman Baru Bian is still state chairman while See Chee How (Batu Lintang) and Ali Biju (Krian) are vice-chairmen.

Miri MP Michael Teo is treasurer-general.

Others in the newly elected PKR Sarawak Supreme council for 2015 -2017 term are deputy chairman Abang Zulkifli Abg Engkeh and vice-chairman Boniface Willy Tumek.

Its secretary-general is Nicholas Bawin Anggat, and he is assisted by Lynette Tan Ping, while the information chief is Vernon Aji Kedit.

The state PKR Wanita chief is Jenny Lawai and her deputy is Ani Lisut, according to a press statement yesterday.

The National Wanita vice-president is Voon Shiak Ni, while National Wanita Exco is Nurhanim Hanna Mokhsen.

Abdul Raafidin Majidi is the state Youth chief.

See was also appointed party state Election Committee chairman, while the chairman for Land Task Force Committee is Joshua Jabeng, chairman for Membership Registration Committee (Willie Mongin) and chairman for Manifesto Committee (Vernon).

On its main resolution, the state PKR unanimously voted to categorically reject the proposal by Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Adenan Satem to amend the term ‘Dan Lain Lain’ in official government forms to ‘Bumiputera Iban’, ‘Bumiputera Bidayuh’, ‘Bumiputera Orang Ulu’ and so on.

They preferred the term ‘Dayak’ to be included, rather than the term ‘Bumiputera’.

“We demand that the anthropologically correct term of Dayak be used instead to classify all non-Muslim natives of Sarawak, including the Kedayans and Melanaus. For clarity, it should be Kaum Dayak Suku Iban or Kaum Dayak Suku Lun Bawang or Kaum Dayak Suku Penan etc.

“We further pledge that if we were voted into the government, we will amend the Sarawak Constitution to reflect this and institutionalise and enshrine the term Dayak. This shall be in PKR’s 11th state election manifesto.”

Read more:

* 1. The leaders were appointed by the Chairman from the ranks of those who won at the divisional level.
2. Simon Siah Sy Jen is the Deputy State Youth Chief.
~ Admin.

No comments: