Thursday, February 5, 2015

PKR wants EC to redraw boundary of proposed Triboh seat

Posted on February 5, 2015, Thursday

KUCHING: PKR Serian branch yesterday submitted a petition to the Election Commission (EC) to request for a redrawing of the boundary of the proposed new Triboh constituency, which falls within the Serian administration district and Serian parliamentary constituency.

In a press statement yesterday, the branch proposed that the polling districts of Ranchang and Bentang be added to the polling districts planned by the EC to fall under the proposed Triboh state constituency.

The polling districts currently planned for Triboh are Pasar Serian, Selabi and Kakai.

“By doing this, voters in the three state constituencies will be more evenly distributed with Kedup having 12,300 voters, Tebedu 11,700 voters and Triboh 10,400 voters,” the branch said.

The branch also proposed that the name of the new constituency be changed from Triboh to Bung Sadong.

“We firmly believed that this will be more in line with the government’s proposal to upgrade Serian district to be come the 12th administrative division of Sarawak, as announced by Minister of Infrastructural Development and Communication Dato Sri Michael Manyin in February last year.”

The branch said the announcement, predictably received a strong all-round support from the local communities in the district as they believed that this move would hasten the pace of development in the area.

“In Oct 2014, Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Adenan Satem himself spoke about the plan during the DBNA Cultural Symposium 2014 and he expressed full support for the plan.”

PKR Serian branch asked that not only the EC redraw the boundary for the new state constituency to be created in Serian but asked that Serian MP Datuk Seri Richard Riot Jaem and Kedup assemblyman Martin Ben work closely with Manyin, who is also Tebedu assemblyman, and the Administrative Department to ensure that Serian district is upgraded to become the 12th administrative division of Sarawak this year.

The branch was confident that much ground work had been done since the plan was first announce in Feb 2014 and that with strong joint efforts from the three lawmakers from Serian, the plan could be brought to fruition by year end.

The branch yesterday introduced its office bearers with Cyril Langin as the branch chairman. He is assisted by Reginald Abel while the branch’s treasurer is Alex Saben Nyipong.

Read more:

No comments: