Friday, April 19, 2013

PKR unveils candidates list, still eyes Stampin, Miri

Posted on April 19, 2013, Friday

KUCHING: Part Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) has not given up on Stampin and Miri although the party did not name anyone for the seats when it unveiled its candidates list at its headquarters here last night.

The party state chairman Baru Bian said PKR was still hoping DAP would agree to let them take one of the seats before nomination day tomorrow. “In line with our multi racialism stand, we do hope that we can have one of these Chinese majority seats. Discussions are still ongoing,” he told reporters last night.

PKR CANDIDATE: Willy (fourth left) being presented with the PKR authorisation letter by Sabaruddin.

In the list of 14 seats announced by the party, all of them are either Malay-Melanau majority or Dayak majority seats although PKR has members of all races.

DAP, in a press conference held earlier yesterday in Petaling Jaya, Selangor, named Julian Tan for Stampin and Lim Su Kien for Miri. PKR had been hoping its national women vice chief Voon Shiak Ni would be accepted as Pakatan Rakyat candidate in Stampin and Miri branch chief Dr Michael Teo in Miri.

Baru also said PKR was also hoping PAS would let it contest in the Malay-majority seat of Kota Samarahan, and DAP would give way in Mas Gading and PAS to let it contest in Julau.
All of the confirmed PKR candidates received their authorisation letters from the national operations centre director Sabaruddin Mohd Yasim.

The confirmed PKR candidates include Boniface Willy Tumek (Mas Gading), Zulhusdi Hol (Santubong), Ahmad Nazib Johari (Petra Jaya), Willie Mongin (Mambong), Abang Zulkifli Abang Engkeh (Batang Lupar), Nicholas Bawin Anggat (Lubok Antu) and Cecelia Siti Una (Betong).

The others are Ali Biju (Saratok), Andy Wong Hong Yu (Julau), Thomas Laja (Kanowit), Joshua Jabeng (Selangau), Abun Sui Anyie (Hulu Rajang), Roland Engan (Baram) and Baru Bian (Limbang).

Read more:

No comments: